This week’s theme was the most tubular of decades…a tribute to the 1980s. 

DeAndre kicked things off with DeBarge’s “I Like It” and guess what?  I did too!  I was unfamiliar with the song, which may factor in with America’s votes, too, but he sang it with his signature, near obnoxious falsetto, mixed with a deeper voice!  It was a solid good job!

Elise tortured Foreigner’s classic, “I Want To Know What Love Is”.  She started off rough, and never really regained control of the power ballad.  This was a huge disappointment, as I think she will probably leave because of this flub.

The night would bring duets this week, the first of them Colton and Skylar, singing a cute tune by Kenny Rogers & Dolly Parton – “Islands in the Stream”.  Colton displayed a new lighter blonde punk hair, Skylar displayed not an annoying performance.  I thought it was actually…adorable!  It was a true duet, in that neither tried to out-sing the other.  Great job!

Phillip in all his cuteness sang Genesis’ “That’s All”, with his brother-in-law playing guitar, (and nearly throwing him off with background vocals), alongside him.  Philly boy seems to always have a good time on stage, and tonight was no different.  He did fabulous.

Hollie and DeAndre went with the Pointer Sisters’ “I’m So Excited”.  But I wasn’t.  It wasn’t a good mesh, in both had what the other needed.  Hollie needed to relax because her voice is spot on, while DeAndre looked totally comfortable, but his vocals could use work.

Joshua paid homage to Simply Red and their hit, “If You Don’t Know Me By Now”.  He is only 19 years old.  He was all pro tonight.  Another home run, Joshua!

Jessica irritated me with another Whitney Houston jam, “How Will I Know?”  To me, it seemed slightly off, and I still find her to be too impressionable or affected by other established artists.  She’ll see next week, though, no doubt.

Phillip and Elise rocked out to Tom Petty and Stevie Nicks with “Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around”.  With every scrunching up of his shoulders, Phillip showed his imperfection…he is uneasy being without the guitar.  Elise redeemed herself, but too little too late.  It was a nice rock song and a good job.

Hollie sang one of my favorites of the ’80s; Irene Cara’s “What A Feeling”, a song that must be sung with passion in order to make it happen.  (After all, it’s right there in the lyrics!)  Unfortunately, it was a bust from the get go and her big note at the end couldn’t help deter from her lousy stiff performance.  To her credit, their was a tiny delay in the beginning, which may have thrown her off or shaken her up.  However, it was still a thumbs down tonight and she might find herself also in the bottom three.

Joshua and Jessica brought the arena crashing down with George Michael’s and Aretha Franklin’s “I Knew You Were Waiting For Me.”  Just…I mean, it was…BOOM!  Excellence!  Plus, I forgot how awesome that song was.

Colton terrified me a bit with his song selection, Cyndi Lauper’s “Time After Time”.  He switched up the arrangement, giving credit to Quiet Drive’s version of Lauper’s song, and he did his handsome thing.

Skylar ended the night with Bette Midler’s epic song, “Wings Beneath My Wings.”  Tears every time people.  Every time.  I’m not sure if her choice of tunes made me not hate her, but she was pretty good!  She’ll definitely do well in country music.

And there you have it.  I’m thinking DeAndre, Elise and Hollie will be scraping the bottom of the barrel this week, with rocker Elise having the least amount of votes.  Will the judges use their one save?  Tune in tomorrow night!

